top of page

Syracuse Amateurs Win Second Consecutive Mitchell Cup

The 2020 Mitchell Cup concluded Sunday, October 7 with the Syracuse District Golf Assocation amateurs defeating the CNY PGA professionals 29 to 19.

In the morning modified alternate shot format, the SDGA took a 7 to 5 lead. The afternoon matches, played under the four-ball (aka best-ball) format, were also won by the SDGA 22 to 14.

This is the second consecutive year that the SDGA amateur golfers won the competition. The CNY PGA leads the all time series 29-16-1.

The SDGA Team was captained by SDGA President Todd Dischinger and board member Gene Meyle. The team included Connor Wisniewski, Johnny Grunninger, Kevin VandenBerg, Brad Monroe, Chris Qulity, Bill Moore, Luke Hobika, Danny Thomas, Mike Mento, Carl Schimenti, John Migliore, and Brian Evans.

The CNY PGA Team included Mark Tucker, Ryan Evans, Dennis Colligan, Mike Discenza, Eric Manning, Tony Saraceno, Ryan McGinnis, Rob Phelps, Jeff Reader, Alan Savage, Nick Serafino, and Matt Jaynes

The Mitchell Cup is an annual team event between the SDGA and CNY PGA, named in honor of former Onondaga Golf & Country Club PGA Professional William Mitchell.


bottom of page